Customer statuses in Paythen

An overview of the different statuses your customer can have in Paythen.

Roohbir Singh avatar
Written by Roohbir Singh
Updated over a week ago

In progress

For any customers that sign up to a payment plan or subscription, an "In progress" status with a blue indicator dot is shown on the customers page in your Paythen dashboard. These are your active customers with an ongoing plan.


Completed

For any customers that complete their payment plan, customers that sign up for a one-off plan or choose the upfront option on Pay Your Way plans, they will show a Completed status, with a green indicator dot on the customers page in your Paythen dashboard. This is also reflected by a banner on their customer summary page:

There are no further charges for customers with a completed status.


Cancelled

For payment plan or subscription customers whose plan was cancelled via Paythen (either by customers themselves or by an admin), the status shows as cancelled with a red indicator dot on the customers page in your Paythen dashboard. This is also reflected by a banner on their customer summary page:

There are no further charges for customers with a cancelled status. If a customer was cancelled from within Stripe directly, this status might not reflect or update correctly in Paythen. We recommend cancelling plans directly through the Paythen dashboard.


Overdue – Retrying

If a payment plan or subscription customer's scheduled payment fails, their status immediately switches to Overdue - retrying. This doesn't require any intervention or manual action. Reattempts will continue based on your Stripe re-attempt settings. Once the payment goes through, the customer will switch back to the In progress (or completed) status.

You (or the customer) can re-attempt the payment at any time before the automated re-attempt date by clicking the "Retry now" button shown on the customer summary page.

Customers (and you) are immediately notified for each failed attempt via email. Here's a preview of the email customers are sent and it includes a handy link for them to update their payment information if needed πŸ‘‡


Overdue – At Risk πŸ‘€

If a payment plan or subscription customer's scheduled payment fails three attempts, their status switches to Overdue - At risk. This status also doesn't require any intervention or manual action but is useful to keep an eye on. Re-attempts will continue based on your Stripe settings. Once the payment goes through, the customer will switch back to the In progress (or completed) status.

You (or the customer) can re-attempt the payment at any time before the automated re-attempt date by clicking the "Retry now" button shown on the customer summary page.

This status is designed to be an early warning for you to allow you to manually intervene if required, or prompt the customer to enter new payment details. Stripe allows up to 8 re-attempts for a payment. The customer will remain at the Overdue - At risk status if all attempts after the third one also fail.


Overdue – Manual action required 🚨

If all automated re-attempts (up to 8) for a customer's scheduled payment fail, their status changes to Overdue - Manual action required. This status requires you to manually follow up with the customer, withhold your product or service, or take necessary next steps. Depending on your Stripe re-attempt settings, once all automated re-attempts fail, this customer's plan will either switch to "Unpaid" in Stripe (recommended), or it will automatically cancel.

If it switches to "Unpaid" you will see a "Retry now" button on the customer's summary page:

This makes it easy for you (or the customer) to complete any overdue payments once they have added funds or updated their payment information. Once all overdue payments become current, the plan will automatically resume and move back to the "In progress" or "Completed" status as applicable.

However, if in your Stripe re-attempt settings, you've set it to "Cancel plans" after all re-attempts have failed, you won't see this Retry now button since this customer's plan cannot be resumed easily.

This requires them to either manually sign up to a new plan you create for them, or if you reach out to Paythen support, we can make the required back-end adjustments to add them back to the same plan and collect remaining payments. We recommend updating your Stripe re-attempt settings to mark any such customer plans as "Unpaid" moving forward instead of them being cancelled as cancellation is a permanent status whereas choosing "mark the subscription as unpaid" is easy to resume:

We will be introducing support for more granular filtering by status on the dashboard a well as admin notifications and Zapier triggers for additional statuses. At the moment, you can get automatic admin notifications for new customers and when customers complete their plan, and Zapier triggers for new customers, completed customers and cancelled customers. We'll be expanding automatic admin emails as well as Zapier triggers to cover all statuses.

If you have any questions about any statuses, feel free to reach out via the chat icon or by emailing hello@paythen.co.

Did this answer your question?